Kari's Law Goes Into Effect

Kari's Law Goes Into Effect

Emily Killian
Saturday Oct 22nd, 2016



      Kari's Law was passed in Texas on March 1, 2015.  It was named for Kari Hunt who was murdered in a hotel room in Marshall.  Her nine year old daughter tried to call 9-1-1 several times for help, however her call never went through.  She did not realize that she first had to dial 9 to reach an outside line.  Since then, Kari's father has campaigned to have legislation changed. 

     The law states that businesses with a multi-line telephone system now have to provide direct access to 9-1-1, so that the user does not have to first dial an initial number.  If a phone system, also known as a multi-line telephone system (MLTS), cannot be reprogrammed or replaced to meet the new requirements without the business incurring undue and unreasonable costs, a one-year waiver can be granted.  During the waiver period each non-compliant handset must have an instructional sticker immediately next to or on.  The instructional sticker must be printed in a minimum 16-point boldface font, instructing the caller how to access 9-1-1 in both.  The label must be printed in both English and Spanish.                    

     Kari’s Law also requires a MLTS be programmed to send notification of a 9-1-1 call to a central location on site at of the facility from where the 9-1-1 call was made. 

     The law was introduced into the House of Representatives.  To-date, 24 states currently have E-911 legislation enacted or pending that requires businesses and organizations over a certain size, or those purchasing a new PBX system, to implement the new E911 regulations.  The US states with legislation in place are as follows:

  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Florida
  • Illinois
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Pennsylvania
  • Texas
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington


     The states with legislation currently pending are:

  • California
  • Nebraska
  • Ohio
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin